The Hon. Mark Vaile AO — Chairman

Independent Non-Executive Director

As Deputy Prime Minister of Australia and Leader of the National Party from 2005 to 2007, Mark established an extensive network of contacts throughout Australia and East Asia, his focus at home was with regional Australia and particularly northern NSW. As one of Australia's longest serving Trade Ministers from 1999 through until 2006 Mark led negotiations which resulted in Free Trade Agreements being concluded with the United States of America, Singapore and Thailand as well as launching negotiations with China, Japan and ASEAN.

Importantly early in his Ministerial career as the Minister for Transport and Regional Services Mark was instrumental in the establishment of the ARTC which operates the Hunter Valley rail network.

Mark brings significant experience as a company director having been Chairman of Aston Resources and CBD Energy Limited, and is currently an independent Director on the boards of Virgin Australia Limited and Servcorp Limited which are both listed on the ASX. Mark is also a Director of Stamfordland Corp which is listed on the Singapore Stock Exchange and a Director Trustee of HostPlus Superfund and Chairman of Palisade Regional Infrastructure Fund.

John C Conde AO — Deputy Chairman

Independent Non-Executive Director

John has over 30 years of broad based commercial experience across a number of industries, including the energy sector, and was chairman of the company prior to the merger with Aston Resources. John is chairman of Bupa Australia, Cooper Energy Limited and and The McGrath Foundation. He is also president of the Commonwealth Remuneration Tribunal and a non-executive director of the Dexus Property Group. He retired as chairman of Ausgrid (formerly Energy Australia) in June 2012, chairman of Destination NSW in February 2014 and chairman of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra in May 2015. He was formerly chairman and managing director of Broadcast Investment Holdings, as well as being a non-executive director of BHP Billiton Limited and Excel Coal Limited.


Paul Flynn — Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer

Paul has extensive experience in the mining, infrastructure, construction and energy sectors gained through 20 years as a professional advisor at Ernst & Young. Paul was formerly Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of the Tinkler Group. Prior to joining the Tinkler Group Paul was the managing partner of Ernst & Young's Sydney office and a member of its Oceania executive team. As a partner for over eight years, Paul managed many of the firm's largest mining and energy clients across Australia, Asia, South and North America. Paul has also fulfilled various leadership roles with large corporations on secondment including as the CFO of a top 50 listed company.


Rick Gazzard — Independent Non-Executive Director

Rick is a mining engineer with more than 30 years' experience in the coal mining industry and a further 10 years experience in the iron ore, base metals and gold mining industries. He holds certificates of competency as a mine manager for both the coal and metalliferous mining industries. Rick has previously held senior management positions as President of BHP Qld Coal and as General Manager of Camberwell Coal Pty Ltd and prior to those appointments had more than 10 years' experience as a mine manager/operations manager/chief mining engineer with CSR Limited and BHP. He is a former non-executive director of ASX Listed Carabella Resources, Eastern Corporation and Aston Resources Limited.


Tony Haggarty — Non-Executive Director

Tony has over 30 years' experience in the development, management and financing of mining companies, and was co-founder and Managing Director of Excel Coal Limited from 1993 to 2006. Prior to this, Tony worked for BP Coal and BP Finance in Sydney and London, and for Agipcoal as the Managing Director of its Australian subsidiary. Tony was appointed to the Board of Whitehaven on 3 May 2007 and was appointed Managing Director on 17 October 2008.


Christine McLoughlin — Independent Non-Executive Director

Christine has more than 25 years' experience working in diverse and highly regulated sectors in Australia, UK and South East Asian markets. Christine has expertise in strategy, risk, stakeholder engagement and human resources in industries including financial services, telecommunications, health and nuclear science. Christine is currently a Director of Suncorp Group Limited, nib Holdings Ltd and Spark Infrastructure Group. She was formerly Chairman of the Australian Payments Council and a former Director of the Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Organisation (ANSTO), the Victorian Transport Accident Commission and Westpac insurance companies in Australia and New Zealand.


Raymond Zage — Non-Executive Director

Raymond Zage is the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Farallon Capital Asia Pte Ltd., which is responsible for investing capital in Asia on behalf of Farallon Capital Management, one of the largest alternative asset managers in the world. Mr. Zage has been involved in investments throughout Asia in various industries including financial services, infrastructure, manufacturing, energy and real estate. Previously, Mr. Zage was in the Investment Banking Division of Goldman, Sachs & Co. in Singapore, New York and Los Angeles.